A new star is born

The countersink with the customized CCDia®AeroSpeed® coating ensures smooth countersink surfaces. (Photo: Dürr Präzisionswerkzeuge GmbH)

Dedicated solution for countersinking in CFRP, GFRP and composites

In order to reduce weight while maintaining high strength in complex components, lightweight materials such as CFRP, GFRP and CFRP-titanium/CFRP-aluminum stacks have become indispensable in the construction of automobiles, aircrafts, wind turbines and sporting equipment. However, machining them is no easy task. Anyone wishing to perform precise countersinking in sandwiched materials with high surface qualities will need special tools such as the new CCDia®AeroSpeed® coated countersink from Dürr Präzisionswerkzeuge GmbH.

“Composites consist of several layers. The individual materials exhibit different properties and are often highly abrasive. Protruding fibers and delamination must be avoided at all costs, as components with these defects end up on the reject pile. With countersinking, the fact that the tool penetrates the material with its angular cutting edges quickly causes tool vibrations that result in chatter marks in the countersink,” says Wilhelm Marx, CEO and Production Manager at Dürr, outlining the challenges of CFRP machining.

Dürr Präzisionswerkzeuge GmbH is an expert in the manufacture of drilling, countersinking and reaming tools for a wide range of materials. In order to master the challenges of developing a countersink for machining composite materials, the Hohenlohe-based company first brought the know-how of CemeCon's coating experts on board.

Perfectly tailored coating and geometry

“Wear-resistant tools with extremely smooth, hard surfaces and special geometries with very sharp cutting edges were required. As part of our Premium Plus Service, we approached the optimum solution with a targeted variation of several factors for both the tool and the coating,” says Marco Furrer, Sales Manager at CemeCon.

During the cooperation, Dürr further developed its tried and tested cutting geometry to meet the special requirements of CFRP machining. “The customized geometry prevents delamination and cuts the fibers of the laminates very accurately throughout the entire countersink area. This yields countersinks with smooth surfaces – with no objectionable fiber protrusions,” says Wilhelm Marx.

Therefore, it was important to maintain the extremely sharp cutting edges during coating. “The ultra-thin coating specification based on CCDia®AeroSpeed® has no influence on the microgeometry and, therefore, does not affect the sharpness either,” states Marco Furrer. The extremely smooth surface topography of the coating allows the countersinks to operate without vibrations or chatter, and this optimizes the removal of swarf and heat from the machining zone. With a coating hardness of approximately 10,000 HV0.05  – nearly that of natural diamond –  the tool also provides outstanding resistance to the very strong, highly abrasive fibers.

The CCDia®AeroSpeed® coating specification facilitates the long service life of the DIAplus countersink when machining composite materials. (Photo: Dürr Präzisionswerkzeuge GmbH)

An inspiring result

The DIAplus countersink is the result of intensive cooperation – the perfect combination of optimized cutting geometry, a selected grade of carbide and a customized diamond coating. “Countersinking in composites and stacks was previously considered a major challenge. The symbiosis of our countersink and the customized CCDia®AeroSpeed® coating now ensures brilliant performance in the machining of GFRP and CFRP as well as CFRP-titanium and CFRP-aluminum stacks. The service life of the tools is disproportionately long, and DIAplus guarantees almost unrivaled process reliability for machining tasks. Countersinking in installed components can even be done with hand-held machines under difficult operating conditions,” enthuses Wilhelm Marx. 

Uwe Späth, CEO and Sales Manager at Dürr, is pleased with the large volume of positive feedback from users: “Satisfied customers are our top priority; firmly convinced users are important to us. With the DIAplus, we have achieved this brilliantly and have been able to prove our status as a solution provider yet again. Last but not least, thanks to our intensive cooperation with CemeCon, we now offer lightweight construction a perfect solution for countersinking in composites.”

Dürr Präzisionswerkzeuge GmbH

Dürr Präzisionswerkzeuge GmbH, founded in Hohenlohe in 1994, is an expert in the manufacture of machining tools, in standard and customized designs. With the innovative ENORM plus countersink for machining wear-resistant and structural steels with tensile strengths of up to 1750 N/mm2, the company has successfully established itself on the market as a problem solver. Dürr offers the new DIAplus countersinks in 90° and 100° countersink angles and in five different diameters each. Other angles and diameters are available on request.

www.duerr-tools.de

A new star is born

Der Kegelsenker mit der angepassten CCDia®AeroSpeed®-Beschichtung sorgt für glatte Oberflächen in der Senkung. (Foto: Dürr Präzisionswerkzeuge GmbH)

Abgestimmte Lösung zum Senken in CFK, GFK und Composites

Um Gewicht zu reduzieren und trotzdem eine hohe Festigkeit bei komplexen Bauteilen zu erhalten, sind Leichtbau-Werkstoffe wie CFK, GFK und CFK-Titan- und CFK-Aluminium-Stacks aus dem Bau von Automobilen, Flugzeugen, Windkraftanlagen und Sportgeräten nicht mehr wegzudenken. Ihre Zerspanung ist jedoch keine leichte Aufgabe. Wer präzise mit hohen Oberflächengüten in die Sandwich-Materialien senken will, braucht spezielle Werkzeuge – wie den neuen mit CCDia®AeroSpeed® beschichteten Kegelsenker der Dürr Präzisionswerkzeuge GmbH.

„Composites bestehen aus mehreren Schichten. Die einzelnen Materialien weisen unterschiedliche Eigenschaften auf und sind oft hochabrasiv. Faserüberstände und Delaminationen müssen unbedingt vermieden werden, da Bauteile damit zum Ausschuss gehören. Beim Senken entstehen zudem, da das Werkzeug mit schrägen Schneiden in den Werkstoff eintaucht, schnell Werkzeugschwingungen, die Rattermarken in der Senkung verursachen“, umreißt Wilhelm Marx, Geschäftsführer und Fertigungsleiter bei Dürr, die Herausforderungen bei der CFK-Zerspanung.

Die Dürr Präzisionswerkzeuge GmbH ist Experte für die Herstellung von Bohr-, Senk- und Reibwerkzeugen für eine Fülle von Materialien. Um die Herausforderungen bei der Entwicklung eines Kegelsenkers für die Bearbeitung von Verbundwerkstoffen zu meistern, holte sich das Unternehmen aus Hohenlohe erstmals das Knowhow der Beschichtungsexperten von CemeCon mit ins Boot.

Beschichtung und Geometrie perfekt angepasst

„Gefordert waren verschleißresistente Werkzeuge mit einer extrem glatten und harten Oberfläche sowie einer speziellen Geometrie mit sehr scharfen Schneiden. Wir näherten uns im Rahmen unseres Premium Plus-Services mit der gezielten Variation verschiedener Faktoren von beiden Seiten – Werkzeug und Beschichtung – der optimalen Lösung an“, so Marco Furrer, Sales Manager bei CemeCon.

Während der Kooperation entwickelte Dürr seine bewährte Schneidengeometrie weiter, sodass sie den speziellen Anforderungen der CFK-Zerspanung gerecht wird. „Die angepasste Geometrie vermeidet Delaminierungen und schneidet die Fasern der Laminate im gesamten Senkbereich sehr exakt. Es entstehen Senkungen mit glatten Oberflächen – ohne störende Faser­überstände“, so Wilhelm Marx.

Deswegen war es wichtig, die extrem scharfen Schneiden beim Beschichten zu erhalten. „Die ultradünne Schichtspezifikation auf Basis von CCDia®AeroSpeed® beeinflusst die Mikrogeometrie und damit auch die Schärfe nicht“, so Marco Furrer. Dank der extrem glatten Oberflächentopografie der Beschichtung arbeiten die Senker schwingungs- und ratterfrei, und Späne sowie Wärme werden optimal aus der Bearbeitungszone herausgeführt. Mit der einer Schichthärte von etwa 10.000 HV0,05 – nah am Naturdiamant – widersteht das Werkzeug zudem den hochfesten und stark abrasiven Fasern hervorragend.

Die CCDia®AeroSpeed®-Schichtspezifikation ermöglicht hohe Standzeiten des DIAplus Kegelsenkers beim Bearbeiten von Verbundwerkstoffen. (Foto: Dürr Präzisionswerkzeuge GmbH)

Ein Ergebnis, das begeistert

Der Kegelsenker DIAplus ist das Ergebnis der intensiven Zusammenarbeit – die perfekte Kombination aus optimierter Schneidgeometrie, ausgewählter Hartmetallsorte und abgestimmter Diamantbeschichtung. „Senken in Composites und Stacks galt bisher als große Herausforderung. Die Symbiose aus unserem Kegelsenker und der angepassten CCDia®AeroSpeed®-Beschichtung sorgt jetzt für Glanzleistungen in der Zerspanung von GFK, CFK sowie CFK-Titan- und CFK-Aluminium-Stacks. Die Standzeit der Werkzeuge ist überproportional hoch und DIAplus gewährleistet eine nahezu unerreichte Prozesssicherheit bei der Bearbeitungsaufgabe. Selbst unter schwierigen Einsatzbedingungen in verbauten Komponenten ist ein Senken mit handgeführten Maschinen möglich“, ist Wilhelm Marx begeistert.

Uwe Späth, Geschäftsführer und Vertriebsleiter bei Dürr, freut sich über die große Anzahl an positiven Rückmeldungen der Anwender: „Unsere oberste Priorität sind zufriedene Kunden, ehrlich überzeugte Anwender sind uns wichtig. Mit dem DIAplus ist uns das hervorragend gelungen, und wir konnten unsere Stellung als Problemlöser erneut unter Beweis stellen. Nicht zuletzt dank der intensiven Zusammenarbeit mit CemeCon, bieten wir dem Leichtbau nun eine perfekte Lösung zum Senken in Composites.“
 

Dürr Präzisionswerkzeuge GmbH

Die 1994 in Hohenlohe gegründete Dürr Präzisionswerkzeuge GmbH ist Experte für die Herstellung spanabhebender Werkzeuge, in Standard und in Sonderausführung. Mit dem innovativen Senker ENORM plus für die Bearbeitung von Verschleiß- und Konstruktionsstählen mit Zugfestigkeiten von bis zu 1750 N/mm2 hat sich das Unternehmen erfolgreich als Problemlöser am Markt etabliert. Die neuen Kegelsenker DIAplus bietet Dürr in den Senkwinkeln 90° und 100° und in je fünf verschiedenen Durchmessern an. Andere Winkel und Durchmesser sind auf Anfrage möglich.

www.duerr-tools.de